First Ministry

(Party standing at latest General Election, Nov. 26, 1951: 22 Liberals; 4 Progressive Conservatives; 2 vacant.)

Note. - Date of appointment does not necessarily mean that the Minister was sworn in on date given.

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment			Date of Present Appointment		
Premier and Minister of Economic Development	Hon, J. R. Smallwood	Apr.	1,	1949	Apr.	1,	1949
Attorney General	Hon. L. R. Curtis	Apr.	1,	1949	Apr.	1,	1949
Minister of Public Welfare	Hon. H. L. POTTLE	Apr.	4,	1949	Apr.	4,	1949
Minister of Fisheries and Co-oper- atives	Hon. W. J. Keough Hon. E. S. Spencer Hon. J. R. CHALKER.	July July Apr.	29,	1949 1949 1950	July July Dec.	29,	
Minister of Labour	Hon, C. H. Ballam	Apr.		1950	Apr.	10000	
Minister of Health	Hon. P. S. Forsey	July		1950	Dec.	10010	
Minister of Municipal Affairs and Supply	Hon. S. J. HEFFERTON	July			Dec.	23,	1952
Minister of Finance	Hon. GREGORY J. POWER	Dec.	15,	1951	Dec.	15,	1951
Minister of Provincial Affairs	Hon. Myles P. Murray	Dec.	15,	1951	Dec.	15,	1951
Minister of Natural Resources	Hon. F. W. Rows	May	21,	1952	May	21,	1952
Minister without portfolio	Hon. P. J. LEWIS	Dec.	15,	1951	Dec.	15,	1951

## Subsection 2.-Prince Edward Island

The Government of Prince Edward Island consists of a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly.

The Honourable T. W. L. Prowse, the present Lieutenant-Governor of the Province, was commissioned to office on Oct. 4, 1950. Lieutenant-Governors since Confederation are cited in the 1951 Year Book, p. 86.

The General Assembly elected Apr. 26, 1951, is the 47th in the history of Prince Edward Island Legislatures and the 22nd since Confederation. It has 30 members from 15 electoral districts who serve for a statutory term of five years. One-half of the Members of the Legislative Assembly are elected on a property vote. Each district elects one Councillor (elected on a property vote) and one Assembly member (elected on a general franchise vote).

The annual salary of the Premier is \$6,000 and the salaries of the Cabinet Ministers are as follows: Attorney and Advocate General and Provincial Treasurer, \$5,000; Minister of Health and Welfare, Minister of Public Works and Highways, Minister of Industry and Natural Resources, Minister of Agriculture, \$4,000 each; Minister of Education and Provincial Secretary, \$3,000 each. Each Member of the Assembly is paid the sum of \$1,000 for each session attended by him and an additional amount of \$500, tax free, as indemnity for expenses incurred. The Speaker is paid an additional sum of \$400 and a further additional amount of \$200, tax free, as an indemnity. The Leader of the Opposition is paid an additional sum of \$800 and a further additional amount of \$200, tax free, for expenses incurred by him in relation to his official duties.